About the Instructional Continuity Initiative

As part of UW-Madison’s ongoing response to COVID-19, the university has dedicated over a dozen teams (listed below) to focus directly on instructional continuity. The teams consist of representatives from across campus including faculty, staff, students, leadership and governance. The teams are working – in partnership with school, college, departmental and other academic leadership, and in coordination with the university’s broader response – to provide guidance and support for safe, effective and engaged instruction and learning.

Across the teams, these are the key areas of focus:

  1. Health safety for in-person learning
  2. Effective in-person learning in a physically distanced format
  3. Effective remote learning
  4. Communications

The teams are overseen by Steve Cramer, vice provost for instructional continuity and academic affairs; Jeff Russell, vice provost for lifelong learning, and dean, Division of Continuing Studies; and Lois Brooks, vice provost for information technology and chief information officer.

Instructional Continuity Teams

Instructor Support

Greg Konop


Caitlin O’Brien

Laboratory Courses

Amber Smith

Wisconsin Experience

Professor John Zumbrunnen

Academic Affairs

Scott Owczarek

Instructor Safety Guidance

Jessica Cebula

Field Courses

Christopher Blaire Bundy

Assessment of Learning & Academic Student Experience

Mary Thompson

Classroom De-densification

Jocelyn Milner

School & College Partnerships

Professor Steve Cramer

In-Person, Physically Distanced Instruction

Timmo Dugdale

Arts Courses

Professor Sue Zaeske

Student Quarantine – Academic Progress

Mo Bischof